Spaghetti with aubergine and salami sauce.

image

My daughter can’t get enough of spaghetti right now. Last month it was anything lasagne. Even if something wasn’t lasagne, and it was just layers of veg with egg, if I said it was lasagne, she would eat it. The month before that it was broccoli and cheese- actually that phase still hasn’t passed.

So this week I made spaghetti twice. Both were accompanied by very easy sauces. As you all know by now, I like to make quick and easy meals. I am not passionate about cooking. As a busy mum with coeliac disease who likes to eat healthy home cooked meals most of the time, I cook twice a day, every day because I have to. Just like many of you.

Anway, back to my spaghetti.

Today I used Peak’s free from spaghetti. I have to be honest. I was hesitant to try out a new brand because I have been sorely disappointed in the past. I have had episodes where the pasta remained hard, tasted of cardboard, or stuck together in clumps. Thankfully, Peak’s free from passed the test. On the packet cooking time was 7-9 minutes, but it took 10 minutes for it to become al dente. But there was no clumping, no sloppiness and no breaking. I served it with sauce and waited for my non coeliac family members’ verdicts. That is where the real test lies …

My daughter said “mmmm” and my husband declared “It’s quite good actually!”.

This pasta is based on corn flour, and typical of Peak’s it is free from gluten, egg, wheat, dairy, and GMOs.
image

Recipe for the aubergine- salami sauce.

Ingredients:

1/2 large aubergine or 1 small one
3 garlic cloves
1 medium onion
Olive oil
Sea salt
Gluten free salami of your choice
1 can tomato pieces
Fresh basil or 1 teaspoon dried basil.

Method:

Prepare the aubergine by washing and chopping into 1-2 cm cubes. Place in colander and sprinkle sea salt all over it. Leave colander in a bowl for 40 minutes. Then rinse aubergine pieces thoroughly and pat dry. This process removes any possible biter juices. I had also read somewhere once that aubergines that have been salted soak up less oil, leaving them soft and not soggy.

Heat a little oil in a deep medium frying pan. Fry finely chopped onion until translucent. Add garlic and fry for a minute. Add aubergine pieces. As they are cooking, stir regularly and prepare your salami. Cut into pieces as large or small as you like. I used a whole salami and chopped it myself because I prefer thicker cubes. Add the salami to the pan. Stir for a few minutes then add a can of tomato pieces and basil.

Simmer on low heat for 20 minutes. Mix with your pasta and enjoy.

 

wpid-20141205_174812.jpg

 

wpid-20141205_180415.jpg

Leave a Reply

