Cauliflower nuggets made with Peak’s free from breadcrumbs

image

Today, just like every other day, I woke up determined to include as many vegetables as I could in our diet. Every parent of a toddler knows that it can be difficult to get them to eat their veggies, but at least I get to experiment with new ways of sneaking them in, and I get to eat more myself in the process.

Today I made these cauliflower nuggets and although my daughter refused to taste them, her father and I loved them. The Peaks breadcrumbs that are seasoned with a dash of turmeric and sweet pepper powder made all the difference in my opinion. I had already used this product to make easy broccoli fritters, and these turned out even better. I used a recipe for cauliflower tots from skinnytaste.com and adapted it by ommitting the parsely (just because I did not have any at home) and I added half a cup of spinach instead. I also added grated parmesan, but that is optional.

 

wpid-2014-11-14-08.06.49.jpg.jpeg

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of chopped cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar
  • 1/2 cup Peak’s free from breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh spinach
  • 1/2/ onion finely chopped
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
    Grated parmesan

Method
Pre heat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Steam cauliflower until just tender. Dry on tea towel then chop finely. Add all ingredients except parmesan to bowl and mix.

 

wpid-20141119_113409.jpg

Form into nugget shapes and place on greaseproof paper on a tray. sprinkle some grated parmesan on top. Bake in oven for around 20 minutes, turning after 15 minutes.

 

wpid-20141119_115012.jpgwpid-20141119_121536.jpg

I also put some of the mixture into silicone cupcake moulds just in case my daughter would not like the nugget shapes.  I thought the colourful ‘muffins’ would entice her.

wpid-20141119_115054.jpgwpid-20141119_122453.jpg

If you have children, I suggest you try these. They are absolutely yummy. I am sure that if my daughter was not so hard headed and tried just a bite, she would have gobbled up a few of these. I know I did. They are ideal as a side dish, or even just as a snack, and were just as good cold as they were warm.

Leave a Reply

